APCR Main Banner

Meet Our Founder

Dianna Dianna Otterstad
Radiology Residency/Fellowship Coordinator
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, Texas

Dianna Otterstad is the founder of the Association of Program Coordinators in Radiology and served as our first President. The story of the early days of our association is related in "History of the APCR" on this website.

Dianna graduated from Texas Tech University and worked there for five years before joining the Department of Radiology at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas in 1979. She managed the residency and fellowship programs for the department from 1980 until she retired in 2009. During that time her “flock” grew from 35 to 80 residents and fellows! Dianna’s level of expertise is evidenced by her article entitled, "The Role of the Residency Coordinator'," published in Academic Radiology.

For several years after she retired, Dianna was a familiar presence at our annual meetings and a role model and friend to everyone in the APCR. She continues to serve as an Emeritus member of the Archives Committee. As a Past President, she provides guidance and encouragement to the APCR officers following in her footsteps.